Connect with us

Hall of Fame

NFL Announces Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Centennial Class

Wednesday it was announced the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Centennial Class, a star-studded class that will feature Former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue, former NFL Films president Steve Sabol and two players from two of the best defenses that ever played the game.

The league announced 13 of the 15-member class, with Tagliabue, Sabol, former Pittsburgh Steelers safety Donnie Shell and Dallas Cowboys safety Cliff Harris were among the inductees.

Two inductees were announced over the weekend, that being former Pittsburgh Steelers coach Bill Cowher, and former Dallas Cowboys and Miami Dolphins coach Jimmy Johnson.

Included in the class are former Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver Harold Carmichael, Chicago Bears tackle Jim Covert, Green Bay Packers defensive back Bobby Dillon, New York Jets tackle Winston Hill, Detroit Lions defensive tackle Alex Karras, Chicago Cardinals tackle Duke Slater, Cleveland Browns wide receiver Mac Speedie, Bears defensive end Ed Sprinkle and New York Giants general manager George Young.

It was one of, if not the biggest class to choose from, as the 38 finalists were chosen from a list of almost 300 nominees over the course of the past five months.

The Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020, comprised of modern-era players, will be picked on February 1st in Miami, the day prior to Super Bowl LIV, which you can use the Westgate Superbook app to bet on.

The Hall of Fame announced that the modern-era class will be enshrined in August with part of the Centennial Class. The remainder of the Centennial Class will be enshrined at the league’s 100th year celebration in September in Canton, Ohio.

The Hall’s Centennial Class was selected by a special “blue-ribbon panel,” which included members of the Hall’s board of selectors, league historians, Hall of Famers, as well as New England Patriots coach Bill Belichick.

Carmichael was one of the great pass catchers of all-time from the Eagles, and was an All-Decade selection of the 1970s, and when he retired he held the league record with a reception in 127 consecutive games.

He had a touchdown reception on almost 14 percent of his career catches.

“I am numb right now,” Carmichael said on NFL Network after getting the phone call telling him he made the Hall. “I had a flashback from 60-some years ago, thinking about the guys that helped me get here.

Shell helped define the Steel Curtain, a defense that helped Pittsburgh win four Super Bowls in the 1970’s.

“Don’t give up on your gifts and your talents,” Shell said on NFL Network.

He was signed by the Steelers as an undrafted free agent after playing football and baseball at South Carolina State.

The Steelers safety is the fifth member of the Steel Curtain defense to be enshrined in Canton, joining Joe Greene, Jack Lambert, Jack Ham and Mel Blount.

Harris is the fourth member of Dallas’ Doomsday Defense to be enshrined, joining Bob Lilly, Randy White and Herb Adderley.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Sports Gab Network

Show Your Team Spirit

NFL Gridiron Gab Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NFL Gridiron Gab newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest NFL news.

Recent Comments


More in Hall of Fame