Connect with us


Who Will Win Regular Season MVP This Season?

The race for the MVP this year is very much on in the final few weeks of the 2018 regular season. 10 of the last 11 MVP winners have been quarterbacks, and the shortlist for the award is also likely to be dominated by the position again. Here is a look at the players who are in the running to take the accolade this year.

Drew Brees

Earlier this season, Drew Brees became the all-time leader in passing yards in the NFL, overtaking Payton Manning’s previous record. The New Orleans Saints quarterback is having one of the best years of his career and could be on course to lead his side to the Super Bowl. Brees leads the league in quarterback rating, which takes into account every aspect of the position. The veteran was the Super Bowl MVP in 2009; however, incredibly he has never won the regular season prize. Brees recently claimed the NFC Offensive Player of the Month award for November after a fantastic month, which might just put him in pole position for the MVP race with just weeks to go.

Patrick Mahomes

In his first full season in the starting role as quarterback for the Kansas City Chiefs, Patrick Mahomes is leading the league in touchdowns. The Texas Tech graduate is not only producing incredible numbers, some of his single plays this season are worthy of an award alone. Mahomes is making full of use of the weapons he has available to him in the offense, and with so many threats, the Chiefs have been one of the most exciting teams to watch in the NFL in 2018. Kansas City can be backed at American football odds of +700 to win the Super Bowl, and with Mahomes playing as well as he is doing, that could be a smart bet.

Philip Rivers

Philip Rivers is generally considered as the best quarterback of his generation not to have won a Super Bowl ring. That could all change this season as the Los Angeles Chargers are making a push towards the playoffs where they could be one of the leading seeds in the AFC following their recent victory over the Chiefs. LA have Rivers to thank for a lot of their victories this season as the 37-year-old is playing the best football of his career. The seven-time Pro Bowler last played a playoff game in 2013, but this now looks to be his best chance of an MVP award and opportunity to play in the Super Bowl.

Todd Gurley

The last non-quarterback to win the MVP award in the NFL was Adrian Peterson in 2012, and given the season he has had so far, there is another running-back in the conversation this year in Todd Gurley. The LA Rams back has already surpassed his figures of 2017 as he has 19 touchdowns to his name. Unfortunately it now looks like it will be difficult for him to break the record for the most touchdowns in a single season, which is currently held by LaDainian Tomlinson who went into the end-zone 30 times in 2006; however, the fact he was on for record pace says a lot about the year he has had. Gurley has been unplayable at times this season, and he has given the Rams one of the best rushing games in the league.

There is still time for the above four players to add to their numbers and make a case for them being the 2018 NFL regular season MVP in what has been a stellar year in the league.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Sports Gab Network

Show Your Team Spirit

NFL Gridiron Gab Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NFL Gridiron Gab newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest NFL news.

Recent Comments


More in Features