Connect with us


The XFL is Back; League Founded by WWE Owner Vince McMahon Announces Inaugural Cities for Launch in 2020

The XFL, the famous failed football league that was founded by WWE owner Vince McMahon, is closer to being back on the field, as Wednesday the league announced their 8 teams for a restart in 2020.

New York, Dallas, Houston, Los Angeles, St. Louis, Tampa Bay, Seattle and Washington, D.C. were announced at a presser on Wednesday as the league’s inaugural cities.

Teams will have 40-man active rosters and play a 10-week season. McMahon said the game will feature simplified rules for a faster pace of game that should complete in under three hours, and will draw from former college and NFL players.

It’s the second go-around for the league that spawned He Hate Me and flamed out in 2001 after one wild season.

The original XFL was founded by the wrestling company and jointly owned by NBC, and premiered to massive TV ratings.

But the audience did not stick around on Saturday nights to watch second-rate football, lascivious cheerleader shots, sophomoric double entendres and other gimmicks that quickly doomed the league.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Sports Gab Network

Show Your Team Spirit

NFL Gridiron Gab Newsletter

Sign up to receive our NFL Gridiron Gab newsletter, and keep up to date with all the latest NFL news.

Recent Comments


More in Features