BREAKING: Adrian Peterson Takes 2012 MVP Award

Despite facing 8-man fronts most of the year, despite WR Percy Harvin on IR, despite coming back from torn ACL/MCL/ligaments suffered Week 16 of 2011, Minnesota Vikings RB Adrian Peterson has won the NFL’s Most Valuable Player award.

In today’s NFL, the rules are designed to allow dink-and-dunk, past-their-prime passers like Tom Brady and Peyton Manning to win the MVP year after year because they have a hand in on the most plays for their teams that annually dominate the regular season.

You need an amazing season as a running back to win over voters. Adrian Peterson did that. From week 7 on, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers (123 yards, 1 TD), Chicago Bears (108 yards with 30 additional yards receiving) and Houston Texans (86 yards) were the only teams to hold AD to under 153 yards rushing. All in all, over 1000 of his rushing yards were after contact! His stats: 348 carries, 2097 yards for a 6.0 yards-per-carry, 12 TDs, a long run of 82 yards;  40 receptions, 217 yards for a 5.4 yards-per-reception, 1 TD.

“All Day” won the 2007 NFL AP Offensive Rookie of the Year and the 2008 NFL Bert Bell Award (Player of the Year). Peterson has four seasons with at least 1341 rushing yards.

Peterson also won Offensive Player of the Year. Denver Broncos QB Peyton Manning won Comeback Player of the Year.

CBS has started airing the 2013 NFL Honors. Tune in to see Peterson’s former teammate Brett Favre on stage with Aaron Rodgers.

Hit “LIKE” if you LOVE watching Adrian Peterson play!

Follow me at:

Be the first to comment on "BREAKING: Adrian Peterson Takes 2012 MVP Award"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.